Deschutes River Territory Acknowledgement 

Prior to settler arrival in the West, many distinct tribes lived in the vicinity of the Deschutes River and relied on its waters. During our journey down the Deschutes River, we will pass through the ancestral lands of the Tenino people, known today as the Warm Springs Band, orginally consisting of four Tribes, the  Tygh (Taih, Tyigh), the Wyam (Wayámɫáma) (Wayámpam) the Tinainu (Tinaynuɫáma) and the Dock-Spus (Tukspush) (Takspasɫáma). Today, they are represented by the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, along with numerous tribes from surrounding areas that were forced to relocate to the Warm Springs Reservation commencing in 1855. These tribes include the Wascos and Paiutes.

We want to recognize these communities and the significance of our travels through their territory. It is our hope, in doing so, to honor their legacies, their lives, and their descendants. Acknowledging the Indigenous communities whose lands we are visiting is the first step in raising awareness about our collective history, their cultures and the continued disenfranchisement of Indigenous populations today. To learn more about the importance of these acknowledgements, please visit our Territory Acknowledgement page. We encourage you to visit the links to each Tribe above to learn more about the people whose land you will be visiting. 

Our Territory Acknowledgement efforts are an ongoing and evolving project. If you see any missing information, Tribe acknowledgements or otherwise, please do not hesitate to share this information with us so that we may continue updating these pages and be as comprehensive, accurate and inclusive as possible. Thank you.